Thoughts on the upcoming changes

Several bloggers have been commenting on the upcoming patch and the impending changes.  I’ve even given some of my rambling thoughts.  Most people are only focusing on the mount issue.  But the more I think of it, the more I see a problem.

World of Warcraft is a video game.  You can buy it at the store.  And that’s the problem.

Madden 2009, Grand Theft Auto IV, Metal Gear Solid 4, Fallout 2 are also video games.  You can buy them at the store as well.

But if I want to play Madden 2009, I don’t have to buy Madden 1863 through 2008.  I don’t have to buy GTA 1 thru 3 just to play part 4.  I buy the one I want and play.  But if I do choose to buy GTA III or Madden 1734, I get the full version, not just a watered down game to get me through to the current game.

But to play WoW, you have to buy World of Warcraft.  Then you have to buy The Burning Crusade, and then you can finally buy Wrath of the Lich King.

And now WoW and TBC are shadows of what they used to be.  Blizzard is forcing new players to buy half games at regular price.

The new players will never be able to experience the adventure of leveling a character from the beginning.  They will just be rushed through content to level 68 when they can finally go to Northrend.  Players looking for an RP experience will feel as though they are missing all the stoylines as they are pushed through Old Azeroth.  They won’t be attached to their toons.  They won’t have friends that they’ve made along the way.

Blizzard is watering down content to grab new players.  But the new players won’t be loyal players.  And that can become a problem in the future.

Or, maybe I think too far into things.

One Response to “Thoughts on the upcoming changes”

  1. I don’t think I necessarily agree. For anyone that is totally new to Warcraft, they will be forced to take their time. Those of us that have been around for a while may take our knowledge of the game for granted. If you are totally new to Warcraft you are forced to take your time because you have a hugh learning curve in the game. (Your class, your professions, training, armor, AH, traveling, questing etc just to name a few.)

    When you start a second toon you definately have the advantage to just run with it and power level.

    I really don’t feel the new players are at a disadvantage. They may quest a little faster but I think their speed at learning and understanding warcraft will determine how quickly they will get through the game.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

